Crazy September

September! What a month.
Is this becoming a pattern?
One month of craziness following the next.

One would like to imagine cool tempts and crunchy leaves for the beginning of Fall. Well, there may be leaves crunching, but we are back to the warmth of summer.
I sent my crew outside to play for the afternoon. This one set up a hut for them and they had all the details from drying berries to … Um, I’m not sure what all.

The first weekend in September, I headed to MD, our old stomping grounds to photograph a wedding. It was beautiful driving through the mountains again, almost like coming home.

Miller Camp is history for another year. It was a good one, calm, relaxing, and a lot of conversations around all the games they played. And as always there was food, good, good food. Fresh tuna, steak, hot apple turnovers, grilled chicken and a whole lot more like that.

Tell me, has this ever happened to you? I used the oven for about 2 hours and had just turned it off. I pulled a pan out and bumped the edge of the oven door slightly and WHAM!
I’m telling you the glass didn’t just drop and shatter, it bounced and flew also. The entire kitchen had sprinkles of glass and I’m still finding it three weeks later.

One camping weekend followed another. Look at us all bundled up in sweatshirts. One would think it was cool at that time. And so it was. The kids tried to swim and nearly lost a pound shivering.

More good food… does anyone wonder why I am always on a diet? Like Monday – Friday of every week I diet and then there is the weekend again and all the good foods. My willpower is level 0 so eat I do and deal with it later.

Homework. I tell you, by the time this child graduates from high school I am going to be able to walk the plank, I mean stage, right with her from all this studying we do.

And finally, the cutest little niece ever, Emma Beth, made her debut. She is so adorable and we all spent all weekend fighting for her. I really can’t believe that Kennedy was once that size. Where has my memory gone?

Well, we didn’t hold her quite all weekend because she didn’t attend the cabin sleepover like the rest of the grandcrew did.
12 kids vs 2 adults.
We lived to tell but our eyes were half closed the next day. For the next overnighter being planned, we are taking volunteers. If no one will raise their hand, we will be pulling names out of the hat.

They completely missed the memo that you sleep in on Saturday mornings! I declare that within 5 minutes of the first one opening one eye, everybody in the cabin was wide awake.
Grandma soon arrived with much-needed coffee, bacon for the fire, a hot egg casserole, and donut holes. We really loved her that morning.

Later that day this gang cooked apples and brown sugar and when that was all they started some persimmon stew. That endeavor stalled shortly after finding out how sour their fruit was.

And beautiful little Emma Beth.
Such sweetness that one really cannot believe it when her Mom says she actually cries.

Her proud Daddy! I’m pretty sure she’ll have a pink dirk bike before she can talk!

~~~

Enjoy the rest of September!

 

Save

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

