Of August

August, the month when we imagine everything will be hot and sticky.
Not so this year, the windows have been open most of the month.

August, the month when moms of all shapes and sizes flip flop back and forth in their brains on any given day, at any given moment.
They go from, “I can.not believe school is starting soon. I don’t want the schedule. I will miss my children!” All the while secretly thinking, “And who will help me work?”
Or at any other given moment, you might find them scrawling notes to the teacher saying, “Thank you thank you thank you for rescuing this child from my hands!!”

August is when you squeeze in one last day of swimming, one last trip to the park and think of all the things you were going to do but didn’t get done.

Aug 17 (1)

August is when all the moms of toddlers think,
“It will be years before my kids are old enough for school.”
(insert loud buzzing noise here) 
Wrong. It will be tomorrow.

Aug 17 (3)

In the photo above, Bryce is holding his ears because I believe in reading a book the way a book should be read. With all the noise and enthusiasm that is portrayed in a book.  He did not care for Bear’s loudness in the library!

Aug 17 (4)

August is when you chop and dice everything in your garden, throw it in the pot and call it good. Tomatoes, onions, cilantro, jalapenos, plus a whole lot more from the store!
It’s so pretty I actually wish I liked it.

August is for so many cherry tomatoes that in a fit of rage, you actually rip the plant out and toss it, much to your children’s horror. Hey, there are three more plants too many!

Aug 17 (5)

August is for peaches. Combine angel food cake, a pudding mixture, a peach mixture and you have an amazing combo. Much better than the previous photo.

Aug 17 (10)

August is for squeezing one last vacation in before school starts.

In the name of keeping all things honest and upright here,
no my children do not always appreciate having their photo taken.
Especially the little one.

Aug 17 (11)

When August is as cool and cool can be, you sit by the fire and catch up.

Aug 17 (12)

And when August pulls off a stunning solar eclipse, you tell the kids they will not miss this, they will go outside and take turns watching. And lo and behold, it turns out to be a whole lot more interesting than they thought it might be.
Or maybe it was just cool to use the welding helmet.

Aug 17 (13)
And of course, the number one thing August is known for, school!
All three were ready to go back whether they admit it or not. One may have been slightly more excited than the others and one was very sad to be left behind.
But she and I, we are really doing great.
That thing called silence is just ringing in my ears!

Miss You Tris

August brings back memories,
the last time I saw Tris,
the last time I waved goodbye
and watched him walk away.
If only I had known…

Quote of the day:
“Did you know my Bible said Jesus undied himself?”

And for that, I am very grateful.

4 thoughts on “Of August

  1. I follow your blog though a little less this summer, as our summer was turned upside down. I thought Aug was when you said good bye to your brother. Aug now became a month for us to say good bye. Our daughter, 24 was diagnosed with stage 4 breast cancer on May 30. On Aug 1st we said good bye to her. Our hearts weep, and the emptiness is so real. she lets behind, 4 siblings. All our children still live at home. If you are interested you can find her story at caringbridge.org/visit/marlitahistand

    Like

    1. So interesting that you commented. I just came upon your daughter’s caring bridge site the other week through another blogger who had linked it. Reading through it brought tears to my eyes for you all! My heart aches for you and I prayed for grace and mercy as you face each new day missing her!
      August was the last time I saw my brother because we lived in different states. He passed away on Oct 7, 2015.

      Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

