Christmas ’16

Christmas this year bounces around in my brain as having hit every emotion in the playbook. There are sometimes in life that words cannot accurately describe and this is one of them.  So, it shall stay like that for you and continue bouncing around in my brain until I get it figured out.

christmas-16-1

The grandkid status at Mom’s hangs heavy in the 3-7 year range and they are often B-O-R-E-D! We talked Madison into playing a game with a few of them.

christmas-16-2

Mr. Jaxon was happy to eat instead of play!

christmas-16-3

He is at a fun age right now and Dakota got a kick out of playing with him.

christmas-16-4

These two goobers, they found my grandma’s old glasses and tried them on.

christmas-16-5

christmas-16-6

Waiting. Maybe patiently, maybe not.

christmas-16-7

A new Jeep shirt! We’re all about Jeeps around here.

christmas-16-8

We had Katelyn’s name and about the time we started searching for the perfect gift, Sarita told me she had Reagan’s name and she had just bought her a vest. So with Reagan’s help, we “came across” this vest that was almost too wonderful to behold.  We bought it for Katelyn and when it came in the mail, she was just beside herself in love. We were all grinning when we watched her open her own gift to find a matching vest.

christmas-16-9

Sometimes people open their mouths and say a lot of things and then get mysterious packages with no name attached. 🙂

christmas-16-10

Tristan’s favorite song was “The Old Rugged Cross” and this song came true for him when he exchanged the cross for a crown.

christmas-16-12

There were two oddly wrapped boxes with Sarita’s and my names on them. One was heavy and one was light. We had our guessing game going and found out that almost everyone (but us) knew what was in these boxes. In a weak moment, due to some well-asked questions, Nick opened his mouth to tell me but Max shut him off just in time. 🙂

Tys went above and beyond and made both of us something special. A camera for me and a little tricycle for Sarita! He is a welder by trade and it carries over into his hobbies. He turns out some pretty cool things from his imagination.

christmas-16-15

The wheels roll, pedals turn and it’s just as cute as can be.

christmas-16-16

The lens turns for a little manual focus and the front has a jeep grill and a cross in memory of Tris.

christmas-16-17

The chain around the edge comes from a dirt bike and he listed all the other parts and where they came from, but I can’t remember. The flash on top pops up also.

christmas-16-18

I don’t know what it’s called, but the round thing inside on the right rolls with a little push. I guess it’s a modern/antique and you use that to wind up your film roll.

Stop in sometime and I’ll let you touch it. 🙂

christmas-16-13

I had Tyson’s name and wanted to buy him something in memory of Tris. Anyone who knew Tris knew that Jeeps were his hobby. He often roared around in an old red Willy Jeep, usually loaded with kids. I looked for a little jeep like this everywhere on the www. Everything was either over my price range or not very nice. I was almost ready to give up when this one popped up on eBay at just the right time and price. It felt like God had gifted me with this and in the end, it meant more to me than if I had found it as soon as I started looking.

christmas-16-11

Later we all took a splat to the face with a little pie face game.
Well, maybe not quite all of us. 🙂

christmas-16-14

We inhaled much good food, had lots of good conversations and all the while dealt with kiddos that kept passing the stomach flu around.
We talked about Tris, retold his favorite stories and missed him so very much!

~~~

My thoughts for 2017 …
“With God’s daily supply of grace, I am able.”

Save

3 thoughts on “Christmas ’16

  1. Such a precious Christmas! I wanna share how one year at camp, Lisa and I informed Tris that the old rugged cross is one of our least favorite hymns, don’t get me wrong the lyrics are beautiful but the tune not so much, well Tris got a extra urge to sing the old rugged cross ALL weekend!!! We miss him so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

