August, going once, going twice

As life would have it, some months just seem like they are out to get ya. If it’s not a rat race of leaving and going and doing all the time, it’s something emotional churning in the brain. There seemed to be no reprieve in August. I cut out everything I could, but a lot was unavoidable so we plunged head first in.

8-2016 (1)

We spent some time at Grandma’s in Aug. These girls jumped for the chance to help cook! Grandma was very patient and gave advice.

8-2016 (3)

One day while we were there, Shady Grove Bakery opened down by the creek. There were flyers taped to all the doors and trees letting us know the hours. We dutifully made a trip to visit and Grandma purchased some goodies. aka: all the junk food they could collect from the ladies living close by. 🙂

8-2016 (2)

This has to be one of the few places in the world that you come upstairs at 6:30am and they are eating ice-cream for breakfast. I didn’t argue, by all means, just filled my bowl and dug in too. It was leftover homemade from the night before and it may as well be eaten while it’s still good.

Tris had a love of ice-cream like few others do. We all like it, but none so much as he did. I think he would have eaten it for every meal if he could have. Now I stop at Dairy Queen occasionally and buy ice-cream and remember him with it.

8-2016 (4)

As usual, the bikes came out and they did some ramping. I’m sure when Mom designed their walk-out basement she had no idea this is what it would be used for.
We always miss Tris when they start driving bikes. He loved a good ramp and jump with the big ones or puttering around on the little ones.

8-2016 (5)

We had a day of fun with the big kids and some friends while we were in IN.
Kennedy stayed with Sarita for the day and we were all happier.

~~~~~~~~~

8-2016 (6)

Home again, home again and we were off to more dentist appointments. While driving through the parking lot at Walmart, Madison started yelling something about a mouse. We skidded to a stop and all jumped out to have a look. Imagine that sight!
He darted around here and there and we finally opened the hood to try to catch him, but he disappeared down into the motor before we got him. I know he looks like he is sitting still in this photo, but he really wasn’t… and who wanted to reach out and grab him anyway? If I was sure of getting the tail I would have, but I didn’t really want to catch that wiggly body in my hand. There is a now a warrant out for his arrest. The next time we’ll have a shoe ready for him.

8-2016 (7)

Our garden, or rather weed patch, is a sorry sight this year. It is an out of sight and out of mind kind of thing. When left unattended for too long, cukes grow to be the size of zucchini and the only things they are good for is creating veggie people and playing cooking shows. Cheap entertainment.

~~~~

8-2016 (8)

We went camping two weekends in a row.
Quite taxing for this girl who likes her comforts of home better then roughing it.
The first weekend could be summed up in a few words, mainly one: rain. We could add “good company” to that to finish it off, but rain was the main ingredient.

Any weekend we go camping in the rain, I always have to think of the one and only time my family went camping. It was either scorching hot or pouring rain the entire weekend. Tris’ tent got flooded and I think he strolled around the campground most of the night, investigating things and completely enjoying himself.

8-2016 (9)

8-2016 (10)

Our next weekend was full to the brim of fun, games, late night laughs, dog shows, swimming and the works. We always have the best of times with this group.

8-2016 (11)

Good food was the main ingredient.

8-2016 (12)

The kids would have spent the entire day in the water if we would have agreed to sit and watch them!

~~~~~~~~~~~

8-2016 (13)

As usual happens with me, I hit a low and crash at some point. The constant going and stress finally got to me one night and I just stayed home alone.

This grief walking thing throws me for a loop over and over. I like my life neat and tidy with all my ducks in a row. Grief does not ask your permission for an entrance, but just interrupts at any point, making itself known.

Some of these moments I knew were coming, some were very unplanned. Some of the bigger things I was bracing for turned out to be insignificant, other small things brought on a crash of the mental state. It is perplexing to say the least when trying to figure out why you react the way you do to certain things.

~~~~~~~~~~

8-2016 (14)

This child!
Much could be said that is better left unsaid.
I fear my questioning of other parents
may have come back haunt me in this small form!

~~~~

8-2016 (16)

This amused a high number of people on Instagram for reasons I’ll never know.
From here on out, I’ll leave the Kitchen Aid and the baking to Madison.
If the picture is blurry, it was because of her excessive laughter.

~~~~~~

8-2016 (17)

And last but not least, if you live in Ohio (or even if you don’t), come to the Haiti Benefit Auction on Sat and buy this cute little Penny Farthing bicycle my brother Tyson made.
It is one of a kind and won’t be found elsewhere.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “August, going once, going twice

  1. I really enjoyed this post. My favorite was the cucumber people! So cute.

    My heart aches for you on the grief part. ♡ And it seems like such a personal/lonely walk too…. we each grieve differently and need our own personal space/place alone with Jesus. Eating ice cream and remembering him sounds so perfect! I’m sure he would feel so honored and pull you in for a great big bear hug if he could!

    your camp outs look huge and amazing.

    Xoxo

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

