Of Words and Grief

Tris was a quote collector.
His phone was full of all kinds of screenshots, photos, memes, quotes and you name it. Imagine everything from serious to funny and he had it saved.
I can still hear him laugh when it was a good one.

Since October I have screenshot, scribbled down and saved more things then ever before. Words that jumped out at me from a book, something that helped right at that moment, or something that was sent to me in the mail or by text. I was looking through them and the vastness was overwhelming for a post, so I just picked out a few that I have saved or created lately.

Isaiah-43-2

Without this promise, there would be no hope.
Grief-walking is a sad and lonely road, but Jesus never leaves our side.

Gone

A beautiful word picture I never tire of reading.

Family grief

We’ll send the rest of our lives missing him.

Christs Holds

There are days when everything would just swirl down the drain if it weren’t for Jesus.

duck

Never assume a grief-walker is really okay just because everything looks okay.
They may laugh and seem to have a good time, but underneath they are paddling with all their might to keep their head above water.

grief-changes-us

It changes you alright.
It changes so much about you, sometimes you don’t even know who you are inside anymore.
It changes the way you look at life, changes your perspective.
You become a different you.

Helen Keller

This is not a family any of us wish to be part of, yet as we are ushered in the door, we are surrounded by loving, caring and concerned grief-walking members. They come with open arms, understanding hearts and many tears, for our pain and their own. They know how we feel because they’ve walked this road of grief. It is ugly to relive grief, yet they allow that pain to wash over them again and again, just to walk along side the next person coming through the door. And so we are family now, no matter how much we dislike it, we are part of this grief walking family, for the rest of our life.

Hope

Even the tiniest sliver of light can be seen on the darkest night. hope.

I need help

Hope Heals - Katherine Wolf

This one is hard. I read and re-read and shake my head and wonder how it can be true.

notions of grief

If only grief were five tidy steps we could process and be finished.

Isaiah 4110

Robert Rogers - Into the Deep

This! This sums things up very well.

waves of grief

 These waves have the strangest way of catching us when we least expect it. I was at a garage sale the other day and there sat a Jeep in the drive. It was one of those waves and I just couldn’t stop the tears. I have wanted to call him so many times to tell him about something I saw, something interesting or something that would make him laugh.

you will grieve -reality

You will never be the same, all the price of loving someone.

WeMayFindRelentless

We cannot lose hope;
without hope, we have no reason to go on.

He has achieved

This best described him. This is who he was.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

6 thoughts on “Of Words and Grief

  1. Thank you for posting these quotes. I can especially identify with the duck quote. This week is 4 years that my brother died and sometimes I am surprised at the intensity that I still miss him. May God give you grace for each day also.

    Like

  2. Hugs to you and your family. It was 31 years this past May that Dad died, and it’s always a part of us. Time heals, but the ache is always there.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for sharing! I know you don’t know me but reading these quotes on grief have been such a blessing to me that I just had to thank you. After losing a 20 1/2 month old son last November life has not been the same. Grief is not an easy thing but God has always been there for us! He is faithful!

    Like

  4. Thanks, Shannon, for all these beautiful pictures/quotes-wow!
    I’ll have to share some of them with my family. That one quote was especially good: ‘grief is not a task to finish and move on…’
    That makes SO much sense. Why did I tend to think that way? (somewhat). I loved this post.

    Like

  5. I’m sorry for the difficult journey through which you are going! I’ve been reading your blog at different times.
    I don’t know what all you’ve been through, but it seems you are walking the same journey in part I and my boys are on. I wish you God’s strength and peace as you continue to trust Him in your journey walking through grief. God bless you!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

