Grace in Grief

I want to write. I don’t want to write.
I want to laugh. I want to cry.
I want the old normal, not a new normal.
Life feels confusing.

You ask how I am.
I don’t know.

I want the merry-go-round to stop, I want to get off.
I’ve ridden long enough, but God says,
“This is your life now, I will give grace for the ride.”

And grace he gives,
for one step at a time,
one day at a time.

2 Cor 12:9 My grace is sufficient for you…

“My grace is sufficient…
the grace is enough to get you through
your toughest times.
When you know you cannot go
another step without it.
Then it becomes the shining
focus in your life.”

Music has a way of speaking to me.
I can’t sing yet, but I can listen,
and while I listen,
I hear that amazing grace,
that great grace,
and it finds me.

While He pours out his grace
for one day at a time,
He also carries me.

There are days I would not make it
without His grace, His help.
Over and over I have to give it to Him,
to let him carry it, to let him carry me.

11-5

I think of Tris all the time.
I miss him.
I wonder what the sky looks like
from his side.

I play this song
and I cry.

tears

 You ask how I am?
I don’t know.
But I know grace.

Save

6 thoughts on “Grace in Grief

  1. I don’t know exactly what happened, but I do know the pain of losing loved ones so unexpectedly, and I’m sorry that you are going through this. Grief is hard work and a long process. I pray you will begin to find healing, cling to memories. They helped me so much this past year as I’ve been working through the deaths of two close friends. I love the song Sovereign Over Us by Michael W. Smith. It brings back so many memories, good and bad, but the lyrics hold so much truth.

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

