Life of Late

The mind whirls, the brain spins,
yet nothing intelligent comes forth.
Is that anything new?
I would like to think so,
but then again, I wouldn’t know
because it seems this brain has taken
a siesta from it’s body as of late.

Funerals attended.
A week in Indiana.
Good times with family and friends.
A health crisis with Mom.
A wedding.
Back home.
Calling hours of a friend’s Mom.
A bridal shower.

And in between all that,
there is all the usual here at home.
I felt the lawn tickling my knees
while tomatoes call to me through their rotten spots.
Zucchini the size of pumpkins crawl from the garden,
begging for attention. I am deaf to their cries.
Girls continue to grow, with no concern for what they will wear.
Photos cry from their spot, hidden away in Lightroom.
People continue to send wedding invitations,
all pretty and pleasing to the eye.
I gaze longingly and wish to attend, relax amid the beauty,
and maybe take a nap while I’m there.
Children continue to roam freely,
building towers of toilet paper rolls, while chewing 5 pieces of gum.

These are the days, they say.
You will miss this some day, they say.
Until then, here’s a few of my Project 365 photos of what’s been happening.

8-6
I did attend to the zucchini’s cries one day
and chopped it into relish.

8-8
This my friends, is the newest leg killer in town.
It is out to get you, just begging to be climbed.
Not hard at all, just a few 200+ steps.
5 days later the legs were still swearing on the way downstairs.

8-9
“How many pieces of popcorn can you catch with your mouth?”

8-10
“I think I can, I think I can!”
And he did.

8-11
Watching Grandpa’s new Tv in their tent!

8-13
Visiting Grandma in the hospital after her heart attack.

8-14
We were reminded to cherish each day with our loved ones.

8-16
My quiet traveling companion.

8-17
There was no time to drink coffee that morning,
but whooo could resist drinking with this guy.

8-18
We celebrated the pretty bride to be.

8-19
And one last shopping trip with this gang.
All the school supplies are collected and waiting for next week.

School and next week should never be in the same sentence,
especially when it feels like it is still July the 4th.

3 thoughts on “Life of Late

  1. Love your humor! I think this summer was so busy and full, and I can’t believe school starts next week! I have to admit though, I’m ready for it. My kiddos behavior lately made me ready:) Ha c e an awesome day!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

