Caramel Mocha Ice Cream

I love ice cream.
Ice cream desserts full of caramel,
coffee, pecans and all good things like this,
just makes it even better.

Mocha Caramel Ice Cream (1)

I could eat a whole boat load of dessert like this if I had no self-control.
As it is, I have very little self-control around it.
I waffle between letting the kids eat a bunch
so there is less for me to sneak
or hoarding it away in little bowls and telling the kids it’s almost all gone.

This batch really is almost all.
I and I alone know where the last little bit is hidden.

One thing about making this dessert, it is time-consuming.
Each layer needs to be frozen well before adding another layer.
I actually made this over a few days time,
when I had a minute I would get it out and add another layer.

{Actual recipe at the bottom}

Mocha dessert (1)

Start off by layering graham crackers on a cookie sheet.
Melt butter and brown sugar and stir in pecans.

Mocha dessert (2)

Pour that mixture over the crackers and bake 10 minutes

Mocha dessert (3)

This is how it looked when it came out.
Not sure how to keep that bottom from getting too brown.
I might spread everything out a bit more next time.

Mocha dessert (4)

After it cooled, I chopped it all up with this little stomper thing.
Next time I would chop it into even smaller pieces.
It was good but some of the pieces were a bit large.

Chop it well and put 1/2 of it in a 9×13 pan.

Mocha dessert (5)

Now, here’s a part I missed a picture of.
I couldn’t find caramel ice cream to save my life
so I bought vanilla and a bottle of caramel.
I put about half of the ice cream on top of the crumbs,
dumped a large amount of caramel on it and finished off
with the rest of the ice cream.
It worked, but I’m still going to look for caramel ice cream.

Now freeze it solid before trying to add anything else.
This stuff cannot be rushed or you’ll end up with
Caramel Mocha Soup.
Don’t ask me how I know.

Mocha dessert (6)

An entire jar of hot fudge is next.
Me, the great disliker of all things chocolate,
didn’t quite scrape the jar clean before throwing it away.
I know, I hear the cries of outrage already.

Mocha dessert (7)

Follow that with the rest of the crumbs.
Freeze again!

Mocha dessert (8)

Now let’s stop and take a moment in honor of
the most loveliest food in the world.
Coffee Ice Cream, ahh, how I love thee.

Coffee ice cream is the next layer
and I read a trick that worked marvelously.
Thaw it just a bit, tip it over and then let it slide out.
If it doesn’t slide out, just rip the carton, that works too.
Now slice the ice cream and layer it on top of the crumbs.
(I sliced the first layer of ice cream too,
just didn’t take a picture)

Mocha dessert (9)

It was getting pretty soft until I was done
so I smooth it around with a spoon after layering the slices.
Or I tried. Now you may lick the spoon.
Freeze again.

Mocha dessert (10)

Next is the Cool Whip mixed with instant coffee.
As you can see, my bowl was too small.
I couldn’t even put all the Cool whip on
because it was oozing out the sides of the lid.
I have a pan that is just a bit bigger than 9×13
that I will use next time.

Mocha Caramel Ice Cream (2)
Eat and be happy! Oh, so happy!
Your taste buds will thank you.

~~~

Caramel Mocha Ice Cream

10 graham crackers
1  c butter
1 c brown sugar – packed
1 c pecans

Arrange crackers on a cookie sheet.
Melt butter and brown sugar and bring to a boil.
Cook 2 minutes.
Stir in pecans. Pour over crackers.
Bake 10 minute @ 350*. Cool and then crumble.
Spread 1/2 in a 9×13 pan.

1 quart caramel ice cream
Slice and place over crumbled crackers. – freeze.

1 jar hot fudge
Spread over ice cream and sprinkle rest of crumbs on top.
-freeze

1 quart coffee ice cream
Slice and place on crumbs. – freeze.

1 box Cool Whip.
1 tsp instant coffee dissolved in 1 tsp hot water.
Mix coffee and Cool whip and then spread on ice cream.
– freeze.

Get out of freezer 10-20 minutes before serving.

3 thoughts on “Caramel Mocha Ice Cream

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

