Of Summer Flying By

I thought it was going to be a lazy summer.
I thought we wouldn’t plan much and just enjoy down time.
I thought we would hit the beach and pool frequently.
I thought … I thought … but it was not to be.
Yet.
I am still planning for it to happen, one of these days,
whenever I catch up around here.
Let me know if you ever catch up and want to go along.

As for life around here …
lots of things are happening.

6-15
There is nothing more pleasing to a boy’s ears,
then the resounding screams of sisters.

July 7 (4)
We hosted a celebrity one night for supper.
We still used paper plates and drank chocolate milk.

6-18
We went to Grandma’s house one weekend..
(more on that in another post)
This was early in the morning and she marched out saying,
“I all ready to go to Gamma’s house!”

6-24
There were endless days of swimming classes the last few weeks,
squeezed in between rain showers and a few rays of sunshine.

July 7 (1)

This was one morning at class.
Jackets, sweaters and coffee, yes you are seeing right.
It was also 8am!

~~~
Somewhere in the middle of all of this,
I had another birthday!
The age will be undisclosed,
it’s a matter of the age of the mind from here on out.

I was gone for a little that morning and Madison was home.
I figured she was baking a birthday cake
because a few of her questions gave it away.
When I came home, she opened the door.
She was grinning and said,
“Come in and look at your cake!”
I couldn’t believe my eyes to see her laughing when I saw the cake.

6-26

She had been carrying it to the table right before I came home
and somehow, she’s not sure what happened,
it all slid off and landed in a heap on the table.
She had the grace to pile it back on the plate
and laugh about it when she gave it to me.
We put it in a pan, poured the caramel sauce over it
and feasted away! It was delicious.

July 7 (7)

We ate on the porch that night and the kids took a bunch of pictures.
Much to my dismay, most of them got deleted.
A lot of them were of a 2 year old howling about eating.
Just making sure Mom enjoyed her birthday.

~~~
6-27

There was the beautiful wedding of an Uncle one Sat.
Lots of fun seeing family!

6-28

Her flowers were gorgeous
and I was privileged to bring one home!

~~~
July 7 (2)
There was camping for days over the 4th …
more on that in another post.

~~~

July 7 (3)
Do not take a 2 year old to any store with these carts.
They will put everything they see in their cart.
They will be as proud as a peacock as they announce,
“I shopping like you, Mommy!”
When you get to the check out,
they will not accept any help placing items on the belt.
And then they will say,
I need you money, Mommy!”
After that they will not want to leave,
“Let’s get more, Mommy!”

~~~

Jule 7 (8)
Yesterday was, well, just what yesterday’s are.
Not pretty.
We were all a day behind and one would have thought it was Monday.
The mom was overloaded with things to do and stressed.
It was our first day home all day in about 3 weeks
and no one wanted to do anything,
except for reading, watching movies and taking naps.
We managed to survive and today is better.
Or it was so far.
We had stuffed french toast for lunch
and I’m afraid we’re going to be dealing with a sugar rush all afternoon.
Jule 7 (9)

Starting now,
with head stands on the furniture
by the one and only son!
Gotta go.

4 thoughts on “Of Summer Flying By

  1. Oh my! You always make me smile! Always 🙂 I am feeling the same about summer right now, and today I feel like I need to go to bed for a day 🙂 Maybe some Mt. Dew would help 🙂 Loved reading about your life!!

    Like

  2. Summer just has a way of disappearing! I loved the birthday cake story(I wouldn’t have been laughing!); the caramel sauce poured over sounds amazing!:) And you should share the stuffed french toast recipe!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

