Little One is 2

How can it be, my baby is 2 already?
Wasn’t she just born yesterday?
Didn’t I just have her tucked under my chin,
snuggled up in blankets?
Where has time gone?

blog 2-24 (1)

Now she’s feisty and sassy at home,
but quiet and reserved in public.
She puts us all in our place,
telling us what she thinks around here.
When strangers talk to her, or even people she knows,
she won’t say a word or even crack the slightest smile.
No one believes us when we say
she can carry on a conversation in complete sentences.
It’s like a light bulb, on and off.

blog 2-24 (12)
I wrote last time about her getting up early.
Monday morning when my alarm went off,
my first thought was, “Wow, she’s still sleeping.”
But no, when I walked down the hall to the living room,
this is what I saw.
If Mom just sleeps,
she’ll find her own source of entertainment.

blog 2-24 (4)

Yesterday she was fighting with Mr D
and he straightened her up and said,
“I think it’s time for you to go to bed!”
She kicked her leg out the side at him and snapped,
“NO! Neber!”
I told Eric I laughed to myself
but it also scared me because
we have some work to do with her!

How we love her!

blog 2-24
Her birthday started early.
(what a shock)
When I sang happy birthday to her, she just smiled.
I asked if she wants to blow out candles,
and she got all excited.
So we stuck a candle in the side of
her yogurt bowl and she
happily blew spit until it went out.
By the end of the day she’ll
be out of air because
every sibling that came down
had to see her blow out another candle.

blog 2-24 (3)
Her Daddy came in with 2 balloons for her.
Tickled pink!

blog 2-24 (5)
In typical 2 year old fashion,
she refuses to look.

blog 2-24 (6)
Favorite foods?
Is no food an option?
It could be chips. snacks.
Real food?
None.
Meals are trials, believe me!

This mother of hers,
is not organized when it comes to birthdays.
They always creep up on me
and catch me unprepared.
How do they do that when I know they are coming?

I knew what I wanted to do for a cake,
but do you think I bought the cake mix? No.
So we mixed one from scratch this morning.
(I know, better for us anyway)

blog 2-24 (2)
I had a very willing beater licker.
Such a help she is.
Everything you do in the kitchen
requires a stool and a little body pressed against you,
wanting to help, lick, touch, pour or do something.

blog 2-24 (7)
This mother of hers
is also not a cake decorator.
Everything that can go wrong, will
when I try to decorate a cake.
I saw this one on pinterest,
(God bless you, who ever invented it)
It was relatively simple
and fit a 2 year perfectly.

blog 2-24 (8)
I had a lot of willing sprinklers.

blog 2-24 (9)
She was almost as busy eating the sprinkles.

blog 2-24 (10)
All ready and waiting for tonight.
We all know what she’ll do.
She’ll take a slice and eat all around the edges,
push the plate away and say, “Done!”

blog 2-24 (11)
In her book, frosting should be a food group of it’s own.

A party for a 2 year old?
Well, if you can call cake to go with supper a party,
along with excited siblings, than we’re having a party.
The girls were all worried about the food.
“What will we make for supper?
You always make our favorite food and she doesn’t have any!”
Guess we’ll be eating chips and frosting.

More spit blowing pictures of that occasion to come on the next post.

7 thoughts on “Little One is 2

  1. Yes, It is such a lovely party – parents, siblings and 2 year old- and she does what she loves best, laughs, plays and has so much fun in doing all the small things..I love it how they find happiness in those small things, sort of like a cue for us. We leave this skill behind as we grow and birthdays get so much more complicated!

    Like

  2. How do little ones grow up so quickly?! I think it simply cannot be possible how fast it happens…
    I often hear that the 4th and 5th borns are such fun little characters, with personalities all their own. I love that! She sounds like a delightful little person! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. My almost 2 yr old little Mister is a Night Owl (yes, capital letters!) Opposites attract, right? πŸ™‚ I love the picture of her in the dark with her little face illuminated……looks so familiar! I’m not sure what Charles would do if they ipad and our phones would disappear!!

    Like

  4. These pictures of her are just darling! So it’s normal for little girls not to eat? I have been beside myself trying to get food into Zara. I mean, how can you just NEVER eat??? Kennedy looks like she’s thriving anyway so I guess I’ll stop worrying about it. πŸ™‚ Happy Birthday to your sweet, spunky little girl! πŸ™‚

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

