Life ‘Round Here

It’s sunny and white out today,
freezing, but at least sunny.
The size of Mt Laundry is daunting.
The dishes are piled high and dirty,
the to-do list is long and endless,
yet here I sit, coffee in hand,
as though I had nothing better to do,
then chat with you.
So chat we will, because that stuff will not run away,
experience has taught me well.

blog 2-5-15 (2)
{Sunrise over the house I grew up in}
Yes, I said sunrise.
My small one would never allow me to sleep in,
especially not at Grandma’s house.

blog 2-5-15 (3)
We made a quick trip to Indiana over the weekend to welcome
the parents back from their trip to Haiti.

blog 2-5-15 (4)

It was a good, full weekend.
The best of times and conversations always happen around the table.
With this gang, the conversation is always stellar.
And loud, did I mention loud?
Occasionally we fuss about the men and their phones,
how they always pull them out to check this or that.
That night they weren’t on their phones,
the conversation was hopping.
It got so loud, the threat was mentioned that we might need to make them
take a minute, pull out their phone and read an update of some kind. ๐Ÿ™‚
Good times. Love these people.

~~~~

We have spent lots of days at home the last while.
I am totally fine with that most days.
Dragging kids out on a cold day is just not for me.
Other days all I want is
sunshine and flip flops and a beach!
I will survive.

blog 2-5-15 (5)

“Mom, you won’t believe this.
I just seen a parrot at the bird feeder.
It was a real parrot too.
A for real big parrot.”

You are right son, I don’t believe it.

blog 2-5-15 (7)

Overheard:
“Kennedy, put that back!”
“NO!”
“Kennedy! You can NOT say no to Koda!”

Hmmm, I think he may have heard that from someone else.

blog 2-5-15 (6)

Little feet. Little hands.
Oh, the places they go and the things they do.
You would not believe what they are capable of.

blog 2-5-15 (8)
People tell me I will miss this.
Some days I wonder how.
People say they don’t like to be alone.
Some days that’s all I want.
But I love them, I really do.

blog 2-5-15 (1)

This day, one that I didn’t love was the dog.
Oh, I was so mad at him.
I sent nasty texts to Eric about that dog, I tell you, I was mad.
Dakota went out to play and the dog was crazy wild.
He knocked D over and buried his face in the snow multiple times.
Finally D decided to swing to get away from him.
This was the results. ^^
Samson the huge dog,
knocked him off the swing and Dakota’s boot was stuck.
D was laughing for awhile, then ended up crying.
I ran out to get him loose and since Sam ran over to greet me,
I took the time to take a picture when he went back to lick D’s face.
And so for this reason I advertise a free dog,
(and for many reasons I won’t tell you.)
Come and get him during the night because for some reason,
these kids still love him even when they don’t like him!

~~~~

blog 2-5-15 (9)
On Tuesday night we had Ladies Night Out at church.
We do this occasionally here,
(but not enough in my opinion.)
It’s a fun night for ladies and girls,
always something different planned,
always full of food and fun.

This time we had Game Night.
Everyone brought appetizers and games.
We had lots of good food and fun games to play.
It was simple, but I think everyone had a good time.

blog 2-5-15 (10)

If you don’t do this with your ladies,
plan one, they will like it.
A night out away from the littles,
good chats and laughs with other women,
and who doesn’t like good food!

blog 2-5-15 (11)

The next day you will be back with your littles,
and you will be able to smile at messy faces and hands
because your mind had a break last night
and was refreshed by friends!

~~~
I just noticed it’s too quiet around here.
That means something is happening somewhere.

5 thoughts on “Life ‘Round Here

  1. I love these kinds of posts ๐Ÿ™‚ Your sense of humor always has me smiling, and goodness knows I’m always in need of reasons to smile on cold, dreary winter days!!

    Ps. And, no. I don’t want the dog! ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Bethany

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alone time- what a sweet thought to mothers of little ones! I was just talking to an older friend yesterday who was missing her grown daughters so much. She said she has shed some tears about it this week. It was ironic, because I have she tears this week from being so overwhelmed by all there is to do with the children that I never get a chance to miss! Too bad we can alternate those season in our lives. A week of little kids and then a week of grown up kids. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  3. Oh yes I can relate! Don’t know if you remember me but i read here sometimes when I remember it! I should catch up:) anyways I have 9 kiddos and life is crazy crazy!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

