Rest

I was frustrated to near tears,
it felt like everything around me was a mess.
Besides the house, the kids and the cold,
I felt like a mess inside too.

Tired. Burnt out. Drained. Exhausted. Spent.

The one word that kept coming to mind was:
Rest.
I wanted to rest, to refresh myself.
More then just physically, I needed to rest Spiritually.
I needed to be refreshed, to quiet myself and rest in God.

When things get wild and chaotic, I drop the ball.
I forget to trust, to rest in God.
A myriad of emotions hits me.
I want to grab the bull by the horns and be in control.
I want to run away.
I want to cry. I want to give up.
I want to straighten everything up! everyone!
I don’t know what I want.
I am anything but peaceful to be around.
I’ve forgotten to rest in Jesus.

blog  1-13-15

When I finally quiet myself, I hear Jesus whisper,
“Come, all who are weary and I will give you rest.”

Peace.
Refreshment.
Calm.
Waiting quietly.
Ease.
Free.
Composed.
Inwardly quiet.
Trust.

I desire all of these. I crave this.
To rest. To be peaceful.
And all I have to do is come.
It sounds easy, just drop my burdens and troubles,
allow him to shoulder them, and rest in Him.
Then I read this…

To rest, we have to trust that God will take care of things for us.

But that is so hard sometimes.
Ok, a lot of times when you are a control freak.
It’s so very hard to hand over the reigns,
to relinquish my control, and to trust Him.

What is not to trust about Him?
I know He has my best in mind.
All I have to do is come,
give Him everything I care about,
just hand it over and rest.
It’s just hard to put that head knowledge
to work in my heart.

Once I finally give up,
I wonder, “Why did I ever doubt Him?”
He truly does take care of things for me.

My prayer this year is
to be able to rest in God, trust him,
be calm and peaceful in my spirit
and let Him be in control.

We say, “Show me, and I’ll trust you.”
God says, “Trust me, and I’ll show you”

3 thoughts on “Rest

  1. I saw you title and it caught my eye– didnt get to read til now. I think resting in God can be so easily glossed over and before we know it our lives run away right before our eyes. Sometimes, like I’m guessing it takes getting to the end of ourselves before we give God our FULL attention.
    Glad for you as you seek rest!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

