To be Encouragers

Encourage.

~~~

What does this word mean to you?
Does a certain person pop into your mind?
Someone whom you depend on,
always there, taps into your hurts and knows just what to say.
When you leave the presence of this person
they have lifted your spirits.
You smile.

IMG_6282

People come to my mind.
Am I someone who comes to the mind of others?
Sadly, probably not enough.
I think of someone,
I might breathe a quick prayer for them,
but do I ever tell them?
Our Sunday school teacher challenged us
this week to be the encourager.
Let others know we care.

Be that encouragement for someone today!

IMG_6273

~~~

It comes in all forms
and a lot of these only take a few minutes.
Be someone who makes others smile this week.

prayer

a hug

coffee

a text

phone calls

flowers

a meal

as simple as a smile

an email

validate

just listen

a note

and so many other things,
just waiting for you to do!

Be the doer!
Someone out there needs you.

~~~

“Be strong and courageous.
Do not fear or be in dread of them,
for it is the LORD your God
who goes with you.
He will not leave you or forsake you.”
Deut. 31:6

 

7 thoughts on “To be Encouragers

  1. Love this! Thank you for the encouragement and reminder to be the encourager!

    I found your blog through blogs of others, and I enjoy reading it. You have a wonderful way with words!

    Like

  2. Oh my. I need to hear this! The “fear of man” drives so much of my not doing things for others. So easy to talk myself out of the ideas to encourage that cross my mind……. Thanks for the nudge to just DO it!!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

