This Week and More

Random thoughts from this wigwam.
The Mother of this wigwam is tired.
Oh, so tired.
The brain is working slowly
so when I say random, I mean just that!

~~~

I “thought” we were going to have a slow relaxing summer.
Thought being the key word.
That thought is currently gone with the wind.

20140622_205110
This small piece of relaxing happened last night.
Was fun while it lasted.

~~~

When your daughters say to you,
“Let’s sign up for the summer reading program at the library!”
just say no.
They already read much more then a brain can comprehend in a day,
no use encouraging it with cheap prizes.
Lest you think I don’t like reading, I do.
It’s just that you don’t understand a Hostetler’s obsession with it until you see it in person.

Such as this:
20140606_202048

You read until the very last second possible,
then you mark your page with whatever is handy!
Because… because you’re coming right back!

~~~

The dirty laundry per person ratio of this household is astounding.
I am quite sure there must be elves in the basement
dressing and undressing while stomping on the clean clothes.
There is about a 5 second pause of thanks the minute I am caught up
until the next dirty piece hit the clothes hamper.

~~~

This has been the name of the game here last week.
It may be small but that doesn’t seem to matter much.

IMG_6031

All 3 of my big fish have spent entire afternoons in here.

IMG_0110

No matter the depth, we must wear goggles.
There are things to be seen down under the sea!

~~~

She had a birthday.
11 years.
Say it isn’t so!

20140620_160640_1

Wasn’t she just a baby yesterday?
Now she cooks supper for me?
Oh well, if that’s the case, continue growing!

~~~

IMG_5941

Last week, or maybe the week before, who is counting anyway,
we had a picnic on the patio for family we don’t see often.
I wish I could claim this porch, but I can’t.
All I claim is the long porch with no railing you keep seeing.
I am very happy with that porch in case you wondered.

IMG_5925

These 2 cousins.
2 weeks apart in age.
Not too happy to play together yet,
but one day we hope.

I squeezed them on here together
and said, “Stay! Because you look cute like that!”
It lasted 1 minute or less.

~~~

If the rain doesn’t wash your car today,
stop by the free car wash.

20140623_132642

20140623_132634

If it’s small enough,
it will get a complete detail.

~~~

20140622_185043_1

This weekend was a time of mourning the loss of the Husband/Dad/Grandpa of a family here.
We cry with them and lift them to Jesus.

Sun night we stopped at the graveyard that his Hostetler Grandparents are buried in.
Such a short time ago, but so long also
that my children have almost no memories of them.
Sentimental feelings come as you stand and remember.

~~~

1402352688914

Me and the mini doing what I call “fat trotting.”
I do not enjoy it.
The giant flies around here seem to enjoy me tho.
And the neighbor dogs are always happy to see me.

~~~

20140520_164530

And a boy with boots “just like Dad’s!”
We stopped at the goodwill and there they were, just like Dad’s.
He wanted them so badly, but they had no price.
“I’ll ask,” I told him “but if they are too much…”
The lady looked them over and looked at Dakota
who was watching her with big hopeful eyes.
She smiled and said, “$2.99.”
And we could do that for a boy
who wants to be just like his Daddy!

One thought on “This Week and More

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

