Rhubarb Custard Bars

Another Rhubarb post…
‘Tis the season.

I said the last time that the custard bars were up next.
When I made them, I put a picture on Instagram
and I quickly had a bunch of hungry friends with cravings. ๐Ÿ™‚

These babies are worth their weight in gold.
I ate one for breakfast this morning.
Haha, I think I saw the healthy people wince. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_7426

Rhubarb Custard Bars

Crust:
2 c. flour
1/4 c sugar
1 c cold butter

Combine flour and sugar.
Cut in butter and mix into coarse crumbs.
Press into aย  9×13 pan and bake @ 350* for 10 min.

Filling:
2 c sugar
7 T flour
1 c whipping cream, unwhipped
3 eggs, beaten
5 c chopped rhubarb

Combine sugar and flour.
Add whipping cream and whisk.
Add eggs and rhubarb and pour over crust.
Bake @ 350* forย  40-45 min until custard is set.
Cool completely.

Topping:
1 package cream cheese
1/2 c sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 c whipping cream, whipped

Beat cream cheese and sugar together.
Fold in whipping cream.
Spread over filling and chill.

Optional:ย  Use 8 oz cool whip instead of whipping cream in the topping.

I like to get them out of the refrigerator and let them sit for just a bit before I eat them.
~~

IMG_7428

They are calling your name and are worth every calorie.

Happy baking.

6 thoughts on “Rhubarb Custard Bars

  1. These look SO good, and easy enough. My problem is that nobody else around here likes rhubarb. Wait, why did I say that’s a problem? Because that means I’d get it all to myself! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for posting the recipe. I love how you can see all the layers.

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

