Rhubarb Cake

It’s Rhubarb season.
Is it a fruit? Vegetable? A pretty plant?
I had to google that one. 🙂

It’s a vegetable that people treat as a fruit.
I can live with that.
If I am able to say I’m eating vegetables while I eat this cake,
I’m happy!

In this household we thought it was only Madison and I that ate Rhubarb.
Since I made this cake, Reagan decided that she likes it too.
Mr D tasted it, ate it, then snooted about it so he was out again.
We didn’t even ask the Man of the house.
Little One gobbles up any kind of sweets, so she ate too.

This recipe was put in our church cookbook by my friend RuthAnn.
I loved when she would make and bring this to church functions.
Now she’s in Haiti for awhile so I had to make it myself.
We miss her and her family (and the cake) 🙂

IMG_7094

Special Rhubarb Cake

2 T Butter – softened
1 C. Sugar
1 Egg
2 C. Flour
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1 C Buttermilk
2 C Rhubarb

Streusel topping
1/4 C Flour
1/4 C Sugar
2 T Butter – melted

Vanilla Sauce
1/2 C Butter
3/4 C Sugar
1/2 C milk
1 tsp Vanilla

Cream butter and sugar; beat in egg.
Combine dry ingredients and add to mixture alternately with buttermilk, beating until just moist.
Fold rhubarb into batter.
Combine Streusel ingredients and sprinkle over batter.
Bake in a 9×9 square @ 350* for 40-45 min.
(Since I didn’t have that, I just used a 9×13 pan)
For vanilla sauce, melt butter.
Add sugar and milk.
Bring to a boil and cook 2-3 min until thick.
Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.
Serve with cake.

IMG_7100

Our first serving was when it was still warm.
Try not to eat it all at once.

~~~

Next on our list is Rhubarb Custard Bars.

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb Cake

  1. This looks SO SO good! My rhubarb isn’t up quite enough to bake with yet. I did make a banana cake this week; one box of yellow cake mix, 1 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup oil, 3 eggs, and 2-3 mashed bananas. Bake at 350 until done, frost with a thin layer of cream cheese icing when cooled.

    Like

  2. Looks so yummy! Will have to try if I get some rhubarb this season. I love a strawberry rhubarb crisp. One of my favorites, but I will have to try this recipe. Looks good!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

