If Only

Do you have “If Only’s” in your life?
If only I had more money.
If only I had a nicer vehicle.
I only I had a bigger house.
If only I had more time.
If only I could decorate like her.
If only I could play sports like him.

Usually those sentences all end with,
“then I could or would…”
You name it.
We could do just about anything, “If Only!”

I am right there with you.
I was struck recently with how long my list is.
It’s really just excuses.

“I would have company more often if only I had a bigger dining room table.”
That was my line.
He made me one.
Have we used it more often for that purpose?
No. Sadly.

“I get so tired picking up after the kids,
if only they would grow up a little!”
Now that the girls have grown up some
and take care of a lot of their needs,
do I appreciate it?
No, I just move on to my next wish.

I go to town, to church, to someone’s home,
and I wish and I want.
I look at a catalog and think whiny thoughts.
Where is my contentment?

332

I need to focus on the treasures that are right in front of me
instead of focusing on what I don’t have.

Simple things.
Today.
I have food, shelter, family.
So many people don’t even have that.
Usually I have everything on my wishlist,
I only want something a little bigger,
a little better, a little more.

But godliness with contentment is great gain. 1Tim6:6
Am I able to say with contentment,
“God, what you have given me is enough!”
Or am I going to keep living in the land of “if only?”

Don’t miss the miracles of TODAY because you are so focused on tomorrow.

~~

3 thoughts on “If Only

  1. I thought along the same lines this week, after hearing about the devastating storms in the South. I catch myself wishing for a bigger house, tighter/newer (easier to clean!) windows, a completed remodeling project……..but we have a warm & dry home, my family is intact, and our list of blessings is too long to start here.

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh I so needed this right now. Mine is if only I wasn’t so swamped. Think to be happy in my “swamped” and bloom right where god has planted me

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

