Christmas Cookies

We’ve been out of baked goods for awhile around here
and the son thinks that is a crime.
So yesterday I was trying to think of something good to make
and remembered the Christmas Cookies.

 I found the recipe in my box a few years ago
and they were labeled “Christmas Cookies” and it said, “From Mom.”
I don’t really remember eating them at home, but we must have.
Since I found the recipe I usually make them at least once around Christmas time.
Maybe it’s because of the name, but that’s the only time of the year I make them.

IMG_0381-2

They are soft on the inside, just a little bit crispy outside,
and have a shortbread taste.
If they are at all overbaked they loose the soft inside and are just a crunchy cookie.

I guess this batch turned out well because this morning the son was happily dipping them in milk.

IMG_0385-2

Christmas Cookies

1 C. butter, softened
1 C. oil
1 C. Sugar
1 C. Powered Sugar
1 tsp Baking Soda
1 tsp Cream of Tartar
1 tsp Salt
1 tsp Vanilla
2 eggs
4 C flour

Mix butter and oil. Add sugars and mix.
Add rest of ingredients and mix well.
Chill 2-4 hours.
Scoop into balls and sprinkle with sugar before baking.
350* – 12 min.

I bake until the edges have just a tint of brown.
No more or they’ll be too hard.

IMG_0382-2

He stuck his head in for a picture of “the cookies and me.”
Evidence of cookies still remain on him! 🙂

Happy eating!


7 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

