Happy Birthday Mom

Today is my Mom’s 60th birthday.
I wish I were celebrating with her today.
Instead, I am home and she is busy painting.
Who would have thought she’d spend her 60th birthday painting?
At least it’s in her new house. πŸ™‚

Today I want to bless Mom for who she is and what she has helped me to become.
Once you have children of your own,
it drives up your level of appreciation for your own parents
and what all they have done for you!

Fam (193)

I have lots of good memories growing up and it’s because of Mom.
She worked endlessly for us and we had a childhood kids dream of.
We weren’t rich and I’m sure there were times Mom wanted more for us, but we didn’t know it.
We were the happiest kids ever and it was because we were loved, cared and prayed for.

One memory I have is of Mom reading to us.
We would sit with our stack of books and as soon
as she was done with one, we put the next one on her lap.
One time she recorded herself reading the stories
then we played them over and over again!
I wish I still had those tapes.

Fam (190)

We had a pond out back and Mom would load us all up
and take us swimming quite often during the summer.
Now that I have kids, I realize how much time that took.

Dad built us a tree house, Mom supplied it.
She gave us rugs, blankets, candles and all kinds of stuff to take out there.
We raided her pots and pans and melted wax over a fire.
I don’t ever remember her complaining about our mess.

Mom 1

We always had a little dog, or 5 or 6, around.
Those dogs and their puppies were in and out of the house with us and
it wasn’t really her thing, but she put up with it for us and Dad.

I remember all of us going to Ohio to visit Grandma and the family.
Mom loved those weekends and in turn, it made us love them.
She showed us all the places she went growing up,
told us stories about what she did.
We saw her old school house and went to visit old stores that she used to.
When we went to the farmhouse she grew up in,
she told us tales of the things that she did as a kid.
We loved hearing those stories.

As a teenager, I know I put Mom through a lot but she stuck it out with me.
I don’t know where I’d be today if it weren’t for her.
When I’m battling it out with my kiddos these days,
I often think of all that I put her through.

Mom 2

Today she still has a heart of gold for her family
Always doing something for one of us.
Cooking, cleaning, babysitting.
Anytime we come to visit, she caters to us endlessly.
The usual question is, “What are you hungry for?”
There is no lack of food at Mom’s house.

She’s the best Grandma a kid could ask for,
spoils them rotten for sure.
She reads to them, bakes all kinds of goodies,
gives them candy, plays games and supplies their every need.
Basically anything they ask, happens.
If they need breakfast, the best in the eyes of a kid lands in front of them!
You want a snack? Well, sure!
It’s the life of a King for kids at Grandma’s!

Fam (135)

This became obvious when we came home after 4 days at Grandma’s house.
Monday morning there was no school so things were pretty relaxed around here
and we were in “fend for yourself mode.”
Reagan got up at 9, sat down at the table and finally she says, “I want breakfast.”
My reply, “Okay, find something to eat, you know where everything is.”
10 minutes later she announces,
“I am STILL sitting here waiting for breakfast!”
“Oh really? Have you forgotten we are no longer at Grandma’s house where everything is done for you?”
She grinned and knew it was true!

Fam (102)

Mom is one of my best friends.
She is everything a daughter could ask for in a mom.
She is a listening ear anytime I call.
She has answers to a lot of my questions.
Anytime we need anything, she is there.

Mom, you taught me so much, put so much effort into me.
You gave up so much for me and
I appreciate it more then words can say.
Thank you for all you did and still do for me.
If I can be half the mom to my kids that you are to me,
my kids will be blessed.
I love you!

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mom

  1. I loved reading this, Shannon! I so agree with the thing of having children of your own driving up the level of appreciation for your own parents and all they’ve done for you!!! You have an awesome mom. You are blessed… and so is she! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. What a beautiful tribute to your mother! She sounds like an amazing woman, and I love to hear about mother/daughter relationships that are so grateful for each other! And you are so right – being a mother yourself sure makes you appreciate your own SO much more. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Very nice post, Shannon. I think our moms must have similar parenting and grandparenting styles. I’m glad relationships are important to my mom. After I finished reading this post I thought, “It would be fun to chat with Shannon again.” πŸ™‚

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

