Granola Bars

My kids love granola bars.
They want me to buy them all the time
and devour them when they are in the pantry.
For some reason they seem to think
the chocolate covered ones are the best.
(They got that from their dad)

This summer I remembered that I had a recipe
for granola bars that I used to make.
So I dug it out, made them and sure enough, they like them.
Of course they do prefer if I drizzle chocolate all over them
but since I am not a chocolate lover, they don’t get that most of the time.

These things are easy to make,
take ingredients that I have on hand most of the time
and they are god.

IMG_0012

A disclaimer: I don’t claim to be a health freak at all, so these may not be totally “healthy” for you. I do assume they are better for you then the store bought ones.
That’s just to appease my conscience a little for all the junk I eat. 🙂

Granola Bars

4 1/2 C Rice Krispies
1 C crushed Graham Crackers
5 C Oatmeal
1 C crushed Peanuts
1 C Coconut
1 C Chocolate Chips

2lbs Marshmallows
1/4 C Butter
1/4 C veg Oil
1/4 C Honey
1/4 C Peanut Butter

Mix the dry ingredients together.
(I omit the coconut since I don’t care for it.)
Melt the Marshmallows, butter and oil.
Add the honey and peanut butter to mixture.
Pour over the dry ingredients.
Stir!!!
Press into a jelly roll pan.

IMG_0018

2 thoughts on “Granola Bars

  1. The granola bars look really yummy, but I kind of stalled at the “since I am not a chocolate lover” phrase. 😉 I’m trying to imagine life without chocolate in it. Hope you have a fabulous October!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

