Chicken Bacon Ranch

Anyone out there ever think,
“Ohhh what shall I make to eat tonight?”

That is the never ending story of my life!
I could cook almost anything if someone just told me what to make.
Help me out. Make me a menu.
Although making me a menu wouldn’t help because I’m sure whatever was up for that night wouldn’t sound good, so there I’d sit waiting on some inspiration.

Other people’s cooking is always better then mine for some reason.
Because I didn’t have to cook and mainly because I didn’t have to spend hours thinking of WHAT to cook.
I’m hiring a chef when I’m rich and famous!

One Sunday at a carry in lunch, I ate a delicious dish with chicken, bacon and pasta.
I looked at the pan to see if I could find a name, sure enough it was my very own Mother In Law.
She admitted the recipe was a new one that looked good from Pinterest.
I decided to find it and make it and it was just as good as I remembered.

IMG_872

Chicken Bacon Ranch

  • 10-12 oz penne pasta
  • 2 cups cooked and chopped chicken
  • 3/4 cup cooked and crumbled bacon
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups heavy cream (milk would be fine, too)
  • 1 tsp. onion powder ( I only use a sprinkle of this)
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • 1/3 cup ranch dressing
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Cook the pasta and drain. Add the chicken and bacon.
(I go a little heavy on the bacon because I like it)
Make the sauce next.
Melt butter. Add flour. Stir and add cream. Cook and stir till thick.
Remove from heat and add rest of ingredients.
Pour over pasta.
Add cheese and stir.

Bake 15 min at 350*

It seemed a little dry the first time I made it so I usually make a little extra sauce now.

HERE is where I found the recipe.
Their picture is a lot prettier. 🙂

Eat and enjoy!

This may be good but I’d still take a chef!

6 thoughts on “Chicken Bacon Ranch

  1. Mmmm, that does sound good!! And I’m like you ~ just give me a menu and I’ll be happy to cook it! The hard part is deciding what to make! 🙂 Thanks for this recipe recommendation!

    Like

  2. Seriously? I JUST saw this recipe on Pinterest while browsing trying to come up with somthing for supper myself! Only problem is – no dairy for me since my baby is lactose intolerent/sensitive. 😦 Now I’m all the more hungry foir it!!!

    Like

  3. Shannon! That looks delicious and what’s better is I’m pretty sure it would make everyone in my family happy (how often does that happen??… almost never). I’ve tried some Pinterest recipes that were big time flops. I always like it when someone I know has already tried the recipe. I love your food board on Pinterest by the way. I’ve tried more than one of the recipes off your board and they were a hit! I made the Chicken Alfredo Bake and the chocolate peanut butter no-bake dessert. I had so many people ask for the no-bake recipe.

    Like

    • I am the same way with food, hate to make it and waste it if we don’t like it.
      Glad you like the board. I don’t spend as much time on there as I used too, a baby will do that to you. 🙂

      Like

  4. This is sooo me. (I’m a random blog-stalker by the way.:) I don’t know you but I have seen you at a wedding you photographed. Not to be creepy or anything!! =/) Anyway, I will def be trying this, the THM way with dreamfields pasta. thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

