Sleep on the Brain

There are the good mornings
when you feel like bouncing out of bed,
full of energy, ready to go….
What is this I speak of?
Not sure that has ever happened to me,
but I’d like to imagine it’s out there.

And then there are the mornings
that your eyes just won’t open,
your feet won’t move, your head is swimming,
and you just want to sleeeeeeeeeeeeep.
No, it’s not a hangover like it sounds,
it’s a chronic disorder of sleep deprivation
called Children.

They are either night owls,
prowling around the house late at night,
wanting food, things to do,
reading, playing games,
Or they are early birds,
up at the crack of dawn, full of energy,
happy, happy, happy.
When you have some of both,
as I do at the moment,
there isn’t much of a time space between those two.

IMG_20130517_083319

The little one, it seems, is the happiest when she gets up early.
Wide awake, smiling while she drinks her bottle,
laughing at me while I sip coffee.
I can’t help but smile back,
even when it’s way to early for my liking.
She coo’s and laughs while she lays on the table.

The next stage is unpredictable at best.
Some mornings Mr D gets up and is happy and raring to go,
the next morning there are bear like features in place for an hour.
If we’re going somewhere and he’s excited about that,
he’ll hop right out of bed, no questions asked,
gobble down his breakfast,
smiling, talking, and all is good.
The next morning, don’t even think of crossing his path,
let alone asking what he wants to eat.
Just don’t talk to him for awhile and things slowly will improve.
(that’s his mom coming through)

Then we hit the oldest kiddos of this household,
the age where they like to stay up till all hours of the night.
The next morning it’s like pulling teeth to get them up at 10.
I’ve heard it gets worse the older they get
and we haven’t even hit the teenage years with this yet.
It really is hard to believe it could get worse.
Groaning and moaning from under the blanket.
“It’s coooold in here.”
“I don’t want to eat!”
“Just let me go!”
The word “Hurry!” is not part of their vocabulary
at this time of the morning.
The more you push them, the slower they go.

How do you get the best of both worlds?
I don’t know.
Maybe, just maybe, one day we’ll get in-sync and
we’ll all like staying up late
and sleeping late…
But I’m afraid by then, I’ll be so old
I’ll be the one waking up at 5 and not able to go back to sleep.
I can hear the people that know me saying,
“That will be the day!”

Until then, the battle continues
and the mom is left hanging in the middle
with less and less sleep in sight.

2 thoughts on “Sleep on the Brain

  1. Hi Shannon,
    I’m finally catching up on your blog. Since you’re not on xanga anymore it’s not so handy. But your site is beautiful. I love the duck and chick stories. 🙂

    Take heart. Our baby is now almost 4 and I’m finally catching up on sleep. These are tough years, though. I remember feeling like all I cared about in the world was to SLEEP. Grace to you.

    Like

  2. I have been told that eventually they will sleep all night & all morning if we let them… Ha, my baby is 20 months & still getting me up several times a night. My sister assures me her baby [he is 17] sleeps all night. 🙂

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

