Babysitting

I have a question for you.

Do you babysit?
Do you like to watch other kids?
Do you like to get a sitter to watch your kids?
Do you pay?
Do you exchange?
Or do you just take advantage?
If you answer that last one, I hope it’s with a “no!” πŸ™‚

I’ll be honest and say babysitting is not high on my list of likes.
But let me add this, the older my kids get, the easier it is to do and I don’t mind it as much.
When I had wee little ones and babysat wee little ones, I’d almost pull my hair out till their mother came to get them. But now, the kids that come are usually the ages of my kids or so and it’s a win/win day cause the other kids entertain mine. If they are younger, Madison and Reagan can help entertain and take care of them.

Now, on to the point of this post….
Last fall I was reading a blog and came across and this idea, something this lady and her family does. I have no idea what the blog was or who the people were, wish I remembered, I’d thank her.  So this wasn’t original with me, but I really, really liked the idea and asked my sister in laws what they thought. They liked it too, we started it last fall.

There are 3 of us couples with kids, so once a month 2 couples go out and the 3rd one watches all the kids.
In May, Loren and Berneice watched all 10 kids while Erin’s and us went out on a date.
It’s a guilt free evening because you know in a month or 2, it’s your turn to stay at home for them.

I guess it’s up to you, but we don’t go out with the other couple. We spend enough time with other people and need a little one on one time by the time another month rolls around. Only once did we end up at the same place to eat, but didn’t sit close enough to eaves drop on them. πŸ™‚
Most of the time it’s out to eat and then a run thru the grocery to grab a few things.
I know, how romantic, but hey, it’s life with kids and when the kids are not along, even time in the grocery section is good. πŸ™‚

Last night, Eric and I watched the kids while Loren’s and Erin’s went out.
10 kids. 2 adults.
It got wild and chaotic but we all lived to tell. 
And no one was seriously wounded.
We even took a little ride and picked up number 11, for free. πŸ™‚

It was much better since the weather is warmer then when it was cold and they were all confined inside the house.
Let me tell ya, those nights, you were just hoping to make it through alive so that you could actually go out the next 2 months and leave the Indians with the next couple. πŸ™‚

Last night I grilled hotdogs and made some cheesy noodles. We filled our plates on the back porch and ate at the picnic table. Later we started a fire and roasted marshmallows and ate brownies and watermelon.
They played games outside, ran wild, argued, roasted marshmallows, played on the swing set, in the sand and basically roamed the entire acreage we live on. I took them on some rides on the Ranger for entertainment and stopped to see the neighbor’s new horse.

No, I didn’t have time to take pictures, these are ones I had of the cousins from other times.
I had all intentions of taking some photos but it just didn’t happen.


And these 2 stinkers… you need hawk eyes to keep up with them. πŸ™‚

So there you have it.
3 couples… babysit 1 month, go out 2 months.

This subject came up one time when Erin’s were with some of the Hostetler cousin’s and they latched onto the idea too.
The other weekend we were camping with some of them and found out things work a little different there. 
See we are usually pretty good with the time thing. You know, after work, 5-5:30 we drop off the kids, and then around 9 or so we’re back to get them.
Hey, school kids changes your life, early nights are a must.
But this other gang, early, early afternoons and late, late nights, they make the most of it while they can! πŸ™‚
Maybe we need to change our habits. πŸ™‚

So give it a shot! Find a few couples who want in on it and see if you don’t like it. 
Just make sure you don’t out do yourself on how many kids you can care for at one time. πŸ™‚

 
Here’s to Eric and I, just waiting for July when we can drop ours off for the night! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Babysitting

  1. You know I LOVE this idea.  Our problem is finding couples who also want to do it & who have a lot the same schedule as we do.  But you make me want to try harder now to find someone!  That last pic is really good of you 2!  Smashing you are.  And I loved all the other pics too.  That first one of Dani is a.d.o.r.a.b.l.e.  It could almost look like the truck is headed for her. lol  And the one of Wyatt & Landon is hilarious.  Have an awesome Sat.!

    Like

  2. I loved babysitting when I was single–LOVED it.  As a mom?  Not so much.  But it absolutely makes sense that it gets easier as your children get older, and I was already seeing that before we moved here when Zachary’s age friends would come to play.   The exchange things sounds like a really good deal all around.  I love the picture of Jasmine.  She has the cutest freckles. πŸ™‚  Your playlist is really pretty; I might just keep this window open for awhile. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Hmmm, so that’s where we got the idea:) Wasn’t sure where it came from, but we absolutely LOVE it!! yup, we pretty much milk it for all its worth:) Such a great idea, and I love that it’s totally guilt free.

    Like

  4. that is such a great babysitting idea. i love to hear what others think on this subject. for me babysitting: i always pay when i ask even my mom and sisters to watch them when i am working– otherwise, they get a gift. my sister with kids and i do trade straight up, even-steven though and that rocks in a big way. babysitting might be one the #1 most stressful part of having kids for me– i HATE asking ppl to watch my girls– it feels so humbling somehow. and i love when my friends ask me to watch theirs. mostly because i know what it feels like to ask someone and also because then i do not feel i am taking advantage.i honestly feel like if i had a steady free babysitter i could have twice as many kids. 😦 i often stay home from events my hus goes to just to avoid getting a sitter. 

    Like

  5. I don’t love babysitting very much….but I’ve always liked this idea.  You know what’s really, really nice?  When your kids are big enough to stay home and babysit themselves.  It feels SO free and they actually kind of like doing it as long as it’s only occasionally.Loving the last photo of you.  And I realized when I was looking for this post because I’d never commented on it and wanted to that you’re not my xanga friend, so I will have to send you a request.  πŸ™‚

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

