Thankfulness

Praise the LORD! Oh, give thanks to the LORD, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever. Who can utter the mighty acts of the LORD? Who can declare all His praise?” Psalm 106:1-2

Thankfulness is on all of our minds right now.
What am I thankful for?
What all have I been blessed with?
The list is huge.

I’m glad people are thinking about this right now, it’s natural to do so at Thanksgiving.
But what about the rest of the year?
Do we practice the “Attitude of Gratitude” then to?

Look for the positives instead of the negatives.
(I am the queen of negative so that statement needs to be hammered in for me!)
I have an “Attitude of Gratitude” journal but it gets neglected far too often.
It’s far more easy to see things that I “want and need” and all that instead of my blessings.
I want to work on a year round attitude of thankfulness, not just during this season.

Do you know how much better you feel when you are thankful instead of ungrateful?
Try it and see.

~~~~~

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1Thess 5:16-18

It’s easy to feel thankful when things are going our way, flowing smoothly and there are no glitches in our easy life. I can write a list of thanksgivings a mile long during those times.
But what about when your daily routine is met with unexpected challenges.
You don’t know how on earth you can feel grateful in the middle of those overwhelming circumstances.
What is my attitude then?
Am I feeling gratitude toward the one who gave me all things?
Or are the negatives back and everything around me looking much worse then it actually is?
There is a positive in every negative situation.
Sometimes we can’t see it. Maybe we never will here on earth, but God can create something beautiful out of something we think is a nightmare.
He is the Creator of Blessings!

~~~~

 Some quotes I’ve read recently:

 It’s not the happy people who are thankful, it’s the thankful people who are happy.

The happiest people don’t have the best of everything, they make the best of everything.

Dear God, I want to take a minute, not to ask for anything, but to thank you for all I have.


What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday?


~~~~

Oh, that men would give thanks to the LORD for His goodness… Ps 107:8-9

God is good. We are blessed beyond measure!

What are some things YOU are thankful for?


One thing I am very thankful for is family.
My family was all here last weekend and I was just reminded again how much I love them.
There is also Eric’s side of the family that I’m thankful for to, just don’t have a picture of them. 🙂

I’m thankful for:
A grumpy little boy- because what if I wouldn’t have him.
A cluttered house – that means I have more then I need.
Dirty dishes – I have food to eat.
Jesus – Salvation.
My husband and girls.
Friendships.
Grace. Mercy. Love. Peace. Faithfulness.
Sticky hugs and kisses.
Music.
 fuzzy blankets. coffee. cool days.
….
the list just won’t end.

Tell me some of your blessings.

4 thoughts on “Thankfulness

  1. amen! i love how gratefulness is contagious.. you can’t listen to someone else giving thanks w/out beginning to count your own. so thank you!!! 🙂 i’m grateful for the contentment God’s brought to my heart since this time last year.. a work i know that’s FAR from being done!! :)have a wonderful thanksgiving!!

    Like

  2. Photos of extended family make me happy.  I don’t know why. Maybe because they make me  realize the blessing I have in my big, unique, noisy family.I’m thankful for the medication I’m on that is helping me to accept and enjoy winter, for our little wood stove, for big boys to fill the woodbox, Tim Horton’s coffee and doughnuts, rich friendships, a church that works together, freezers and cupboards overflowing with food, Dan & ours, and Hope in Jesus. 

    Like

  3. I’m thankful for PEACE! Somehow that seems HUGE this year! And health, family, love……not to mention my cozy house, freezer and asement full of food….Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

