Marinara Sauce

Honesty first.
Canning is NOT on my list of favorite things to do.
Far from it.
I only do it because I have to.
That said, Marinara is about the easiest thing to do.
And it’s good.
We use it for lots of things so I have to do it every year.
Pizza, spaghetti, dipping bread sticks, casseroles, use your imagination, it’s that good.
~~
(Recipe at the bottom of the post!)

Chop, chop chop!
onions, peppers and celery.

Cook the veggies with a gallon of juice till they are all nice and soft.
I used the juice I canned last year and that is what makes this so much easier!
Or go buy the juice, even less of a mess!

While you wait on that stuff to get soft, mix everything else together.

Rest of the juice. Ketchup. Tomato paste. Sugar. Parmesan. and all the seasonings.
See them in their little bowl back there. I dump them in a small bowl first so that if I mess up, I don’t ruin the entire batch!


Stir, stir, stir

Now we get to blend that whole mess of peppers, onions, celery and juice into puree since they are soft.

The dishrag on the top was for my protection from hot splashes.

Dump it all together.
Stir, stir, stir.
Cook, cook, cook till it boils.
Put it into jars.

Put it in the oven for 40 min at 250 and you are done!
My jars were all popping by 11 am.

And I shall be ever so happy to eat this while the snow flies.

~~~

Marinara sauce

9 qts tomato juice
8 celery sticks
9 onions
4 peppers
-cook 1 gal of juice with the veggies until everything is soft.
blend until pureed. add rest of ingredients.
1 qt. ketchup
1 gal tomato paste
3 C. sugar
(I cut mine back to 1.5 C sugar)
2.5 C. Parmesan Cheese
2 TBS black pepper
3 TBS dry mustard
3 TBS garlic powder
3 TBS oregano
3 TBS chili powder
6 TBS paprika
6 TBS salt
9 TBS Parsley flakes

Bring everything to a boil.
Fill jars.
Heat oven to 250* and bake jars for 40 min.
Remove and enjoy.

Yields around 33-35 pints.

10 thoughts on “Marinara Sauce

  1. I love this recipe! I use it for pretty much EVERYTHING too! But the sad note is that it is still not done yet…still hanging over my head you might say  Hopefully by next week it will be in the past…

    Like

  2. Hey, that’s MY recipe! I was even gonna do a post with it. But I don’t post anymore…I just try to keep my head above water, and sometimes I read my subs, and sometimes I even take time to comment. Love this stuff, but onions are NOT nasty stinky..now go apologize!

    Like

  3. You bake them instead of water bathing them?  That’s cool!!  Do you make your jars and rings hot too before filling them?I made a batch last summer and just saw it on my shelf the other day.  Forgot I had it.  Wasn’t sure what to use it for anymore, since I make spaghetti sauce and pizza sauce.  but maybe this could work for everything, sounds like it.Thanks for the post, I enjoyed it.

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

