Cookie Dough

Anyone like Cookie Dough?
Be honest, raise your hand!!
I do.
My kids do.
They want to help bake just to eat bites of dough.
So cookie dough is supposedly bad for you, those raw eggs and all.
(so far we’re still doing good, but maybe we should quit, just to be sure)
The other day I saw this recipe online for editable cookie dough.
No eggs, nothing bad, (except calories) all pure goodness.
Just eat it up!!
I thought I’d make some and see if they like it orΒ  not.
My kids wanted to eat the whole bowl.
Nope. Not gonna happen!

Then I got to thinking… Eric loves Cookie Dough ice cream, but he always complains that they never put enough dough in. And since I didn’t want my kids eating this whole bowl of dough with a big fork, I figured we can solves a few problems at once.

So I softened a big bowl of ice cream, crumbled some dough into it, ok LOTS of dough into it and froze it. Threw the rest of the dough into the freezer in an unmarked Cool Whip bowl hoping to trick the kids. (Didn’t work, they were eating it frozen the other day)

And everyone loved the ice cream. I thought it had a few too many dough chunks in it but Eric was finally happy. Dough in every bite.

That batch was all soon so we whipped up another one tonight.

Here is the recipe, give it a try sometime.

Cookie Dough
Β 1 C softened Butter
3/4 C Brown Sugar
-Cream together.
1 box Vanilla Pudding
-Add and mix.
1/4 C Milk
1 T Vanilla
-Add and mix.
2 C Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda (Not sure why?)
-Add and mix.
2 C Mini Chocolate Chips
-Stir in.
Refrigerate or Freeze.
Eat with your fingers, a fork, a spoon, sprinkle on ice cream, mixed in ice cream or just any other way you can think of. If you really love it, make it and hide it in the back of the fridge for your secret snack. Label it onions. πŸ™‚

.

We’re off to eat some ice cream.
Good night.

26 thoughts on “Cookie Dough

  1. “Label it onions.”  That made me laugh! I always eat cookie dough when I make cookies. A habit I started when I was a little girl and have never been able to break it. I suppose that’s one reason I don’t bake often- then I am not so tempted.

    Like

  2. Thanks for this recipe…………..I NEVER EAT COOKIE DOUGH. My mom always told me it was bad and not to eat it. So being a good girl. I listened. Now I married someone who loves cookie dough and has taught the children to like it as well. I just turn my head and look the other way. I shall have to try this and then label in onions πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I make Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies that has DEElicious dough. 😦 This sounds really yummy! One question, though. If you are not going to bake this dough, why put in the baking soda?

    Like

  4. We have already done this…made just regular cookie dough and added it to ice cream. I think that is baloney about it being bad for you!  Maybe in large quantities, but…anyway, that recipe looks delicious and awesome and wonderful…particularly since I am on a diet right now.  My husband would LOVE if I would make that!Thanks for the tip!

    Like

  5. I bet Steve would love if I made this.  I like cookie dough way too much, but the ice cream never really tempted me.  I tried a recipe last fall called two-tone brownies. Basically it was regular brownies with a layer of unbaked cookie dough on top.  It was probably a lot like the recipe you have here, but it didn’t have pudding in it.  We thought they were good.  I did miss the salt in them, though, so I’d add that the next time.  Did you think about that at all?  I love sweet and salty together which might we why it stood out to me.

    Like

  6. I would have to raise both hands and I taught my kids to like it too, much to my husbands horror. He tells the kids (and tries to tell me) that it is gonna give you worms. I just laugh and take another scoop and figure well, than feed those worms! =) So from the looks of it, you could make any cookie dough recipe and leave out the eggs, or not? Yum. I am not supposed to be eating sugar or white flour but looks so good.

    Like

  7. @appalolly – No kidding, dieting makes everything else seem twice as good as it should be!! Just wait till your off the diet to make it. πŸ™‚ @twofus_1 – I didn’t think about it missing salt but I’d say you could add some and it wouldn’t hurt. They are probably trying to stay healthy on that end since they threw in 2 sticks of butter! πŸ™‚ @Esther_lynn – Oh my word, feeding the worms! That is hilarious. I figured the same thing, just make your favorite dough and leave out the eggs. It might not be as moist like that tho. Just add something else to counteract it. I’m not a good dump and pour cook tho. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. @madisonsmom2 – Home with sick little boys…………So I am going to make this to go with lunch. πŸ™‚ As I was reading the comments I was thinking was I the only one taught not to eat cookie dough. So I was quite relieved to see Esther lynn’s husband was taught the same thing. Yes my mom said it would give me worms. I DID NOT want creepy crawling things inside of me crawling around. Lavon says what my mom says was HOGWASH !!!! 

    Like

  9. The eggs thing is because of the chance of bacteria (since I always have to have the scientific answers, you know) but I figure our risk of contamination is lower since we have our own chickens. πŸ™‚  I like tasting cookie dough, but I don’t like it in ice cream.  

    Like

  10. I’m going to ignore the fact that I just saw this.  I definitely did NOT see a recipe for edible cookie dough.  Nope….no can do.  Ha!  It isn’t the kids who would want it around here…it’s the mom who would need it labeled onions!!  Loved seeing a post from you again.

    Like

  11. Love cookie dough, and so do my kids….I love to freeze it for a fresh batch of cookies later. Alas when I go for my little stash someone has ate the last drop and left me an empty container. Trust me…the minute I dump this infernal diet I’m gonna make myself this recipe. I’d love to try this for homemade icecream too. Thanks for the new recipe!

    Like

  12. @smilesbymiles – I am so glad to know the real reason for all this “bad for you” hype! πŸ™‚ I don’t have my own chickens so maybe I should stop eating it. πŸ™‚ @smuckers4jesus – SO far I haven’t found a kid that doesn’t like it, IF the mom’s eat it, why shouldn’t they. πŸ™‚ @thegrabertribe – Bethie, make it. Eat it. It won’t hurt you in the least. Come on, you know you want it! πŸ™‚ @Izzysgal – I love the idea of keeping dough in the freezer for fresh cookies!! I’ll have to try that in my onion bowl! πŸ˜€ @SandraTroyerHershey – With this last batch I made… I thought there was too much dough.  When there are 2 lumps in every bite, it’s too much, but NOT for him!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. You’re not a very good influence in my life, now are you?  lol  Guess what I did?  I saved it in my recipes file on my computer & some day when I’m craving it, I’ll think of it & make some.

    Like

  14. Oh boy. Didn’t see this post till now. And it’s killin’ me. I’m SO going to do this… someday! When I bake cookies, I probably eat 4 cookies worth of dough till they’re all baked. And mix it in ice cream? Brilliant. Thanks for posting this… you may see it on Kitchen Scrapbook eventually. πŸ™‚ Label it ‘onions’. Love that! :p

    Like

  15. so going to try this~ my kids LOVE cookie dough and my kate is always making up a batch just to eat. πŸ˜‰ i always worry about the eggs thing so this is perfect… my kids would probably like it mixed w/ ice cream – -but i would just pick out the dough. ha ha~thanks for sharing.

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

