One of those days

It has just been one of THOSE days.
I don’t even feel the need to explain it to another mom, just say that phrase, and your good to go!


Crying. Snot. Whining.
Poopy pampers. Teeth pushing thru.

Bread over baked. Too brown.
Timer only beeps once and I didn’t hear it over the crying.
Hope the bread is eatable.

Ran out of frosting for the pumpkin cookies.
Did someone say Pumpkin Cookies?
That would be one redeeming factor for today.
The can of pumpkin that I found on the back shelf of my pantry has been put to use.
Since I can’t seem to find pumpkin in stores we find long lost cans at home. πŸ™‚

Dumped water in the living room.
A fluting 4 year old that needs to have her hair combed.

 

She licked the beater then spun the wheel.
 A combo of spit and frosting flew. everywhere.
Enough said.

 
Clothes on the line that need to come in.
Baskets of clothes need to folded.
Clothes happily wrinkling in the dryer.

Snot. Crying. Teething. Did I mention that already?
Dishes piled a mile high.
A half finished project.
Pumpkin Cookies that need to be eaten but it’s to hot for coffee.

A project half way finished now.
School children that need to be gotten.
Phone call to make.

Why sit ye here gazing? you ask.
Because I need a break.
And a cookie.
And a nap.
And I am alive and we are {half} well.
And it was just ONE of those days, not a whole year.
And “this too shall pass.”
But please don’t say that to me today.

16 thoughts on “One of those days

  1. you made me grin. and if it is any comfort, i think the bread looks great…and i didn’t load my dishwasher from friday a.m. til monday a.m. (and no one else did either) so you can imagine the way my house looked. cheers to motherhood.

    Like

  2. Aww, I’m sorry. If it helps any, I had to laugh at you. At least you have a funny way of saying it. And oh I LOOOOOOVE that project. I am going to be a real copycat and do it too. May I? Here’s to a better day tomorrow.

    Like

  3. I feel your pain.  Been there way too often.  Today Max doused himself, a rocking chair cushion, and the carpet in our bedroom with a small bottle of very strong smelling perfume….needless to say….the whole (little) house stinks and I choke and sputter every time I walk into the bedroom.  I have a nagging headache…I wonder why!!!!  πŸ™‚  Hope your day goes better from here on out!!!

    Like

  4. Hey, look at it this way. At least you have reasons for a messy house. I have basically no reason and it is still a mess. And i didn’t even bake bread today or have a crying, teething, snotty baby. Maybe I should at least have come and got Dakota then at least one of us would have gotten something done! πŸ™‚ 

    Like

  5.  I would say you did super. Fresh bread, a lot of delicious cookies, and half a project. Plus all the other little duties…like changing diapers, school runs, blogging…etc. It is Monday. Don’t forget. πŸ™‚  Now, all you need to do is comb your hair back,clean up the kitchen, fix supper and pretend to Eric like you had a fabulous day!! -And you are so glad he is home and you can even get him a cookie and a cup of milk if he wishes. Oh dear.  

    Like

  6. oh dear:(  I wish i could come an wash your dirty dishes for you!  Unfinished projects, and messy house + a grouchy baby is enough to make anyone feel like dissappearing to the bedroom with a good book for the rest of the day!

    Like

  7. @mlt10202002 – I am so happy to know that!! Why do we always think we are the only ones that ever pulls a thing like that? πŸ™‚ @ma_an_pa – Copy away. Sarita sent me a picture of hers so I am copying too! πŸ˜€ @junebugs26 – spilled perfume? Fraid that one would have went down badly here!! badly! At least mine was just water. @barneyjo2 – If you keep this up, I’ll have to start paying you to watch him. Or are you stocking up brownie points for next summer? πŸ™‚ @seekinHISwisdom – He’s in the office today so before I went to get the school kids, I hauled 2 kids over to him, slapped some cookies on the desk and said “Watch these 2!” No need to comb the hair here! πŸ˜€

    Like

  8. sometimes, it just a mom good to know that we’re not alone in this journey… like tonight when i was out at Target alone (gasp!!) and i saw a mom with 3 kids that looked about my kids ages, and they were pulling all manner of antics that would so NOT have been cute, or funny, or tolerable had they been my children. but, since they were not mine, i looked at her and i just felt all ‘normal’ inside. but, oh, i hear you on the ‘one of those days’ line. and NOT saying it to me when i’m having one of ’em.like somebody else said, you got a lot done for it being the day that it was!!here’s to a better, less crying, less poopy diapers, less whining tomorrow!!

    Like

  9. Even though this was a bad day for you, I love your post and pictures. I would say you tackled A*L*O*T for in one day!  Goodness girl!!  When the baby is teething and fussy, I don’t plan to get much done at all…besides tend to the baby.  So, I’d say you did great considering!  Hope there are better days ahead for you soon.  And cooler weather so you can perk some coffee and enjoy those delicious looking pumpkin cookies! 

    Like

  10. Poor little guy! He looks like life is crashing in on him. Poor mom! Peace and rest seems evasive. Hope tomorrow is a better day!! As Carmen mentioned, you still got an amazing amount of work done!

    Like

  11. Thank you God for the mothers and wives you bless us with who do more than we ever acknowledge.  Bless them, encourage them, and strengthen them.  Let them know how special and important and appreciated they are.  Help us to tell them and show them the same.

    Like

  12. I’m craving pumpkin cookies again and I just had to laugh at your post, I’d say you are doing a wonderful job, baking bread and cookies with a fussy baby, I do know the feeling, I hope you have a wonderful Tuesday……

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

