Marital Bliss… A Book Review

Can you give a book review before you actually finish a book? πŸ™‚
I started this book, “Martial Bliss with a Kiss of Reality” and decided I’m going to read it slowly and make notes as I go. A lot of times I whip through a book and have no idea what half of it was about because I skim over so much of it. This isn’t a book you can do that with. You need time to digest, think and meditate as you read this one. So, even tho I’m not done reading it, I’m giving a itty bitty review on what I read so far. πŸ™‚


(No, I don’t have an island or cabinets like this. It’s Michelle’s photo)

Christy and Michelle wrote this book primarily to newly married women, but I found a lot of it pertaining to me right now. I did read something things that I remember dealing with 10 years ago, but my situation wasn’t your typical “move into a new state and settle down” experience.

1 month after we were married, we were asked to serve with Choice Books. I had barely lived in Ohio for 2 weeks and my thoughts were already swirling about moving again. We moved to MD 2 months later and were thrown into the busiest season of our lives!!! We serviced book racks together, 5 days a week, 12-14 hr days, overnight 2-3 times a week, on the road all. the. time. My biggest adjustment was being with someone all the time. When your newly wed, I know there is no one you’d rather be with then your new husband. But let me tell ya, when you get home from a 2-3 day run of talking and seeing and being with no one but him, there is nothing you’d rather do then spend some time alone! πŸ™‚

Somehow I am way off my subject of this book review, but after living there for 1.5 years, we moved back to Ohio. By this time, I was so ready to know that I am moving and “staying put” that I had no problem moving here. Through those first years, there were the moments of homesickness, not knowing how to cook, calling Mom for advice, making new friends, learning to know a new community and all that of course! I think that is a lot of what this books talks about, but how do I know, I’m only on chapter 4! πŸ™‚

A few things that I scribbled down from the chapters I read:

“God does not compare us with others when he measures us so why should we?”

“Feeling negative about myself, the way I am, my personality or abilities is actually insulting God the Creator.”

“There is a core part of our heart that can only be filled by God. In reaching out for friendship, our desire will never be satisfied  unless that space of emptiness is filled by Jesus Christ.”

“Things that trouble our hearts, troubles the heart of our Father.”

And there were more but I’m gonna let you get the book and read for yourself.

Go HERE to read their blog, BUY a book (or 2) and keep up with them.

Now for the best part, I got to meet these 2 ladies last week for the first time.

As you can read on their blog, they were in Holmes County for a few reason and I met them at Walnut Creek Cheese one day with a few other ladies. It’s was so much fun to meet people in person that you’ve been in contact with for the last few years, I could have spent the whole day with them. Wonderful ladies, they are!!

——

In other news around these parts, the girls are at Grandma’s for the week and you would think things would be flying around here, but no, they aren’t. The smallest one of the family has double ear infection and a double or triple case of the grouchies.

5 thoughts on “Marital Bliss… A Book Review

  1. I too am reading slowly. Actually in the second chapter. It’s fun to read a book written by someone you know. πŸ™‚ Been busy so it might take me awhile to finish tho. Glad you got to meet them too, sweet gals!!

    Like

  2. Wow, sounds like you really did have a unique and stretching first 1.5 yrs of marriage!  When I think of doing something like that – just the two of us, it sounds dreamy.  But, I’m sure in reality it would have it’s challenges like you stated!Yes, the book is definitely a great read…I’m so proud to know those two ladies now too.  And I think it’s so awesome that we have some people within our own circle who are writing!  They address a lot of very pertinent issues for newly weds!Awe, bless your babe’s heart.  I’m sure that’s no fun, and for mommy either!  Praying things will get better soon!! P.S.  Mom always says, when they start getting grouchy, then that’s a sign they are getting better   ??

    Like

  3. I am also about ready for chapter 5 of the book, although you are probably further than that by now.I am really enjoying it a lot! I think there is a lot of depth to this book. 

    Like

Would love to hear what you are thinking...

